Combat Lines Wins the Battle

My once fertile colony of follicles staged a rebellion when I was in college.  That is to say, I started going bald.

I decided my options were threefold:

  1. sit by passively and watch the destruction unfold;
  2. make what would surely be an ultimately futile effort to conceal the hairline’s retreat by use of the combover; or
  3. mercilessly attack.

I chose option 3 and started shaving my head. It’s been more than a decade and I definitely choose the right approach. There’s just one catch.

When you shave your head, you get a lot of sun on the dome.  My wife—who worked in the medical profession for years—has long encouraged me to use lotion with sun screen on my face and head.  I’ve always resisted, because not only do I generally not like the feel of lotion on my skin, I strongly dislike sunscreen.  Not only does sunscreen (or lotion with SPF) always feel greasy to me, it tends to smell funny.

“$38 is a small price to pay to win the battle against skin cancer.”

But because I don’t want my head to look like a red ball of fire…or an old piece of leather, I finally agreed to try and find a solution.  My search let me to Billy Jealousy’s “Combat Lines.”*

IMG_6253

The Good:

  • A dime-size amount of moisturizer goes a long way.
  • Easy to apply – this moisturizer goes on smooth.
  • It is not greasy (I can’t emphasize enough how important that is).
  • The smell is pleasant (green tea scent).
  • My skin feels great.
  • The sun protectant is SPF 30, so it will offer great protection without having to apply  the sunscreen I loathe.
  • It’s color free / oil free / paraben free. (Parabens are used in about 85% of cosmetics, according to RealSimple.com, but there are some health concerns.)

The Bad:

  • It’s $38.

Bottom line: With the only negative attribute being the price, you owe it to yourself to give Combat Lines a try.  Based on my use so far, this moisturizer is going to last me a long time, and in the grand scheme of things, $38 is a small price to pay to win the battle against skin cancer.

 

*Combat Lines was provided to me for review at no charge. I received no monetary compensation for reviewing it. 

Leave a comment